An Alternative to the B.S. About Your Biggest Weakness

I’ve written about the silliness that goes on when candidates are asked their biggest weakness. And about the also-silly notion that candidates or people should be perfect.

I’ve also seen alternatives to the “biggest weakness” question.” But I’ve never loved any of them. So I’ll throw one alternative out there.

Instead of asking people their biggest weakness, and having them say, “my biggest weakness is that I care too much,” how about asking this:

From what you know of the job, what do you think would be your biggest challenge on the job, or the thing you will most need to learn as you get up to speed?

That might get you a good answer, a job-related answer — though as you know from my previous posts, I’m skeptical of people who answer, “Nothing!”

3 thoughts on “An Alternative to the B.S. About Your Biggest Weakness

  1. Pingback: The Worst Interview Question Ever - ERE.net

  2. Pingback: The Worst Interview Question Ever | SmartMoves

  3. Pingback: The Worst Interview Question Ever - Hogan Assessments

Leave a Reply

